Reading and Other Such Stuff

I’ve read Lavie Tidhar’s story, “The Night Train” at Strange Horizons. One thing I gotta say about Lavie is that his prose is tighter than a man-kini and his pacing is off the wall frenetic. A wonderful storyteller, Lavie’s story in this magazine is nothing short of excellent. The central character is interesting and a bit mysterious herself.

The one thing I like about a Lavie Tidhar story is that even though the story seems resolved, there are enough tiny holes left–either in character background or overall world-building–that make you want to know more. I don’t know if he does this on purpose or not, but it sure as hell works.

Next up, I am eagerly waiting for his short novel “Cloud Permutations”. Until then, it’s time to finish Chris Wooding’s “Retribution Falls”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Editing, General, Stories, Writing

Comments are closed.